Kaiyukan (Osaka Aquarium)

Golden Week Day 1: OSAKA
Nearest station: Osakako (Osaka Port)
Admission: Y 2000

Official website: http://www.kaiyukan.com/language/eng/

Osaka Aquarium


Being a snorkeling addict and a self-proclaimed environmentalist, this was perhaps the highlight of my Kansai trip. Even before I got out of the train, I felt so giddy with excitement that I think I was grinning ear-to-ear for the whole ride. (I realized this because some people were smiling at me as I pass by them, haha.)

anxiously waiting at the entrance

The Osaka Aquarium is one of the largest aquariums in the world. Its main tank, which houses different species of sharks, whale sharks and other ocean creatures, can hold 11,000 tons of water, and spans 8 floors.

The tour starts with an introduction to some species that can be seen in forests in Japan. The area reminded me of the freshwater-area (Agos) in Manila Ocean Park, with the open-air setting surrounded by lush plants endemic to tropical forests. After this portion, the real adventure begins. From different species of cichlids in South America to king penguins in Antarctica, the tour literally takes you around the world with a showcase of different marine and terrestrial animals. The variety of species was just outstanding. 🙂

The highlight for me, though, is the Great Barrier Reef – tank. The colors of the corals and fishes were just breathtaking! Upon seeing them, though, I didn’t feel like smiling anymore. I was literally on the verge of tearing up because it reminded me too much of home. I kept thinking that if I was in the Philippines, I would be swimming with these beautiful creatures and would be able to feed them in my palm. Funny that in my whole Japan-experience so far I felt homesick the most while seeing fishes…

At the heart of the Kaiyukan is the main tank with (as far as I could remember) 2 ‘medium’-sized whale sharks (butanding), dolphins, varied species of sting rays and sharks, and other fishes endemic to the Pacific Ocean. Seeing them glide through the water was just so relaxing for me that I looked for an available space to sit on and just stared at them for a few minutes. 🙂

The tour ends with a roomful of different species of jellyfish. Unfortunately, I got too engrossed with the other tanks that the battery of my camera was almost drained already by the time I reached this part. I wasn’t able to capture these graceful floaters. 😦

Here are some photos from Kaiyukan:

ANTARCTICA

I just love them!

MAIN AQUARIUM

JELLYFISH

Share

About celinecats

Food lover. Traveler. Photography enthusiast. Physicist.
This entry was posted in New places, New sights and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment